Ten Random Ipod Tracks – Simon Brown

My name is Simon Brown and I live a double life. For 4 days a week I have the immense ‘pleasure’ of working with Electro Candy guru Neil McCormick. Its tough going I tell you. Sometimes I think he was put on this earth to annoy me. Luckily though my other life is much more fulfilling and rewarding.

Because I am also a landscape photographer who travels around Northern Ireland trying to capture images showing my homeland at its beautiful best. You can see my work at www.myphotographyjourney.com.

I recently had my first book published. Its called Portrait of County Down and you should all buy 10 copies of it each so that I can quit my day job and never have to work with Neil McCormick again….

10 MGMT – Time to Pretend
This is a great wee tune. It’s a happy sounding song to put me in a good mood. I have no idea what the lyrics are about or if they are as happy sounding as the melody. I’ve never really paid any attention to them – for all I know it might actually be a song about death and misery. But to me it’s my happy song.

9 Ray Lamontagne – Narrow Escape
I’m currently taking guitar lessons for the first time in my life and if I could choose a singer/songwriter to eventually be able to play like it would be Ray Lamontagne. There’s sod all chance of it happening though. I’m rubbish.

8 Radiohead – No Surprises
I love Radiohead and this is one of my favourite songs. Again it’s a happy sounding song with its constant high/low background chime. Though the lyrics then go and spoil it with lines such as ‘a job that slowly kills you’. Which incidentally is the kind of job I have because I work with Electro Candy’s Neil McCormick and he is so annoying he is going to drive me to an early grave.

7
Dinosaur Jr – Get Me

J Mascis can’t sing. He has a truly awful voice. But for some reason it sounds kinda beautiful alongside his wailing guitar playing. This is a song I fell in love with back in my teenage years and I still love listening to it to this day.

6 The Prodigy – Poison
I normally hate dance music but I love the Prodigy. I go jogging a few times a week and this song is a great one to listen to when you are struggling up a hill or feeling totally knackered. But then when it finishes and something like Damien Rice follows it on my mp3 player I suddenly regret the burst of energy the Prodigy gave me and I want to collapse in a heap.

5
Radiohead – National Anthem

Radiohead again. This is from the Kid A album which many people consider to be their best one.Personally I think its just ok but this song is my favourite from the album.

4
Kings of Leon – Use Somebody

I’m not an avid fan of Kings of Leon. I have a couple of their albums but they don’t grab me as much as they seem to a lot of people. But this song is one I can’t get enough of.

3 Dinosaur Jr – What Else is New
This is from the same album (Where You Been) as Get Me. It and its predecessor Green Mind were both soundtracks from my late teenage years so as you can imagine they ain’t exactly full of easy listening, joyful tunes! But they are both full of brilliant songs of which this is one.

2 Damien Rice – Eskimo Friend
I am a huge Damien Rice fan. Which to some people suggests that I am a manic depressive who loves misery. I’m not though, I just think he’s an amazing songwriter. Eskimo Friend is my favourite song of his. The operatic swell that concludes the song never fails to give me goosebumps.

1 Radiohead – Everything in its right place
Radiohead again. I’m bored of writing about them now. Electro Candy has made me hate Radiohead. Thanks Electro Candy.

1 Comment

Filed under Features

One response to “Ten Random Ipod Tracks – Simon Brown

  1. Adam Roche

    I really like your choices, and I wholeheartedly agree about ‘Eskimo’

Leave a Reply

