The Stone Roses – The Stone Roses

Stone Roses Legacy Edition

Track Listing

1. “I Wanna Be Adored” – 4:52
2. “She Bangs the Drums” – 3:42
3. “Waterfall” – 4:37
4. “Don’t Stop” – 5:17
5. “Bye Bye Badman” – 4:00
6. “Elizabeth My Dear” – 0:59
7. “(Song for My) Sugar Spun Sister” – 3:25
8. “Made of Stone” – 4:10
9. “Shoot You Down” – 4:10
10. “This Is the One” – 4:58
11. “I Am the Resurrection” – 8:12

I am sitting here trying to comprehend how this album is 20 years old. It feels like its only been out for a short while but seriously 20 years ??!!! Even now it sounds so fresh and you can see the influence it has had on the music industry today. Most of the UK bands of today :- Oasis, Kasabian etc cite the Stone Roses as a reference point that inspired them to form a band.

Released in March 1989 it heralded the peak of the “Madchester” Music Explosion. Happy Mondays, Inspiral Carpets et al.

I first got to hear the album at Easter that year and was instantly taken with it. A good friend had acquired it and it became the soundscape for that Easter and also the summer of 1989 for all of our crowd.

Every one of the tracks on this album are fantastic. Critics however, have since argued as to whether the album is one of the most hyped but lacking in substance albums of all time.

To be honest I really do not care – this was the album that moved me from the mainstream bands my friends were listening to; onto my journey into the alternative side of music. For that alone I am eternally grateful.

If you consider your life as stages on a musical journey – this was a key moment for me.

If there ever was a soundtrack to my life – I imagine a Roses track from this album will feature. In all probability “She Bangs the Drums” would be the track I would choose if I had to pick one.

The album promised so much and we eagerly awaited subsequent material which took quite a while to come. By then the music circle had moved on. The Stone Roses split and went their separate ways.

While bands of that era have reunited for reunion tours chasing one last cash cow the Roses have resisted this temptation. So for now this album is the only access point.

If you have not heard this album yet – you really do owe it to yourself to have a listen.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music

Leave a Reply

